Summerhill’s turn of the century houses, winding tree-lined streets, and abundance of parkland have made it one of Toronto’s most preferred neighbourhoods. It is conveniently located along the Yonge Street corridor, providing Summerhill residents with easy access to Toronto’s downtown business and entertainment districts.
The Summerhill neighbourhood was named after ‘Summer Hill’ house, built in 1842 by Canadian transportation baron Charles Thompson. Much of the area was once part of the Thompson estate but was subdivided by his heirs in the 1880s.
In the 1880s, the North Toronto Railway Station was established on Yonge Street and the neighbourhood of Summerhill quickly developed around it. Today the landmark clock tower serves as the LCBO with parking conveniently located by the iconic Five Thieves grocery stores: Harvest Wagon, Pisces Fish Store, Olliffe Butcher Shop and new additions Nadage, and Terroni ...that replaced Patacho for those that remember!